Starting to feel comfortable with Costa Rica I think. My host family and I don't seem to have too many problems communicating. Yesterday, five of us managed to work our way to San Jose, walk across half the city and use the bus system for the first time without getting lost and managing to keep it a cheap trip. I bought some earring that are supposedly made from orange peel, which I can't quite be sure of, they are lacquered black, so can't be sure of the natural color, but they do seem too light to be made of wood and have a slight curve to them that might suggest an orange peel...
Last night was crazy, my family hadn't warned me that we were to have a surprise party for my host aunt, who turned fifty the day before. I found out about the party when I saw strangers walking into my house and once I entered my madre introduced me to everyone in the family. About fifteen minutes after we surprised the birthday girl a nine-man mariachi band came streaming into the house playing and singing like crazy,I could not believe my eyes. Afterwards there was some hilarious Spanish karaoke and a general good time :)
Tomorrow is the first day of classes....I'm ready to get busy but not so much for the whole college classes in Spanish bit, I understand people pretty well when they speak to me, but I have a really hard time when ticos are talking to each other since the speak so much faster. Wish me luck!
Today Costa Rica had a presidential election, which meant that there was a ridiculous amount of car honking and waving of party flags all throughout the day. I got a good look at it all wandering through Heredia during the day. Tried some Chinese food, tico style and it was pretty much the same as Chinese food in the US-sweet and heavy on the sauce. What was strange that there was no hoisin, soy or sweet and sour sauce at our table but instead the ever present Lizano picante salsa and ketchup, yes ketchup. I tried both with our food but can't really recommend either to go with Chinese food.
No comments:
Post a Comment